Image of solar eclipse from space with Earth in foreground

Scientists and engineers at the Atmospheric Turbulence and Diffusion Division (ATDD) of NOAA’s Air Resources Laboratory led multiple research and outreach activities associated with the total solar eclipse on August 21, 2017. Nine of the one-hundred fourteen USCRN stations were on the solar eclipse’s narrow totality path across the U.S.

Partnering with colleagues at NOAA’s National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI), data about air, ground and sub-surface temperatures, solar radiation, relative humidity, wind speed, and precipitation have been extracted and are presented in the form of graphs (see the links below). An eight hour time span of 5-minute data readings from 14:00 UTC (10:00 AM EDT, 9:00 AM CDT, 8:00 AM MDT AND 7:00 AM PDT) to 22:00 UTC (6:00 PM EDT, 5:00 PM CDT, 4:00 PM MDT, and 3:00 PM PDT) are used in the graphs in order to include readings shortly before, during and shortly after the eclipse. NCEI has produced a report entitled USCRN Eclipse Report about the effects of the eclipse across the U.S.

ATDD also had a team flying a small Unmanned Aircraft System (sUAS) to capture vertical profiles of air temperature, relative humidity, and solar energy before, during, and after the eclipse. In addition, another ATDD team launched a weather balloon and deployed sensors to measure solar energy, wind speed and direction, air temperature, and other variables at Roane State Community College in Harriman, TN, during a field trip for students from Linden Elementary School in Oak Ridge. A similar suite of measurements was also set up by ATDD at a local farm near Philadelphia, TN.

The raw data extracted for the site graphs will publicly available soon on this website by to allow students and others to take advantage of this event to study the effect of the solar eclipse on near surface atmospheric processes.

Interesting observations

Webmaster personal aside: This is the place on the page I figure to have a paragraph or two or more from the ARL/ATDD science people about what did or did not happen.
I know there will be papers and/or articles written and links to them will be inserted somewhere on this page eventually. Just don’t make me come after you 😉

I will get material and photos from the student field trip and, hopefully, photos from the sUAS event for separate articles.

Grant: Understand you’re taking photos of traffic during the event. Could be a nice sidebar with local flavor.

Happy darkness, everyone

Other eclipse activities:

Links open in new tabs/pages

> NOAA Research’s Global Systems Division will use an experimental version of the High Resolution Rapid Refresh (HRRRx) short-term weather model to predict subtle changes in the weather caused by the moon blotting out the sun – changes that current forecast models are not equipped to handle. The algorithm has been developed by a team from the University of Barcelona and the National Center for Atmospheric Research.

US Climate Reference Network sites within the totality of the eclipse

Corvallis, OR
Partial eclipse start: 9:04 AM; Total eclipse: 10:17 AM – 10:18 AM Duration: 1m 00.1s; Partial eclipse end: 11:37 AM PDT

John Day, OR
Partial eclipse start: 9:07 AM; Total eclipse: 10:21 AM – 10:23 AM Duration: 2m 07.2s; Partial eclipse end: 11:43 AM PDT

Moose, WY
Partial eclipse start: 10:16 AM; Total eclipse: 11:34 AM – 11:37 AM Duration: 2m 20.6s; Partial eclipse end: 1:00 PM MDT

Harrison, NE
Partial eclipse start: 10:25 AM; Total eclipse: 11:47 AM – 11:49 AM Duration: 2m 23.7s; Partial eclipse end: 1:14 PM MDT

Whitman, NE
Partial eclipse start: 10:29 AM; Total eclipse: 11:52 AM – 11:54 AM Duration: 1m 52.7s; Partial eclipse end: 1:19 PM MDT

Lincoln 11 SW, NE
Partial eclipse start: 11:36 AM; Total eclipse: 1:01 PM – 1:04 PM Duration: 2m 13.3s; Partial eclipse end: 2:29 PM CDT

Lincoln 8 ENE, NE
Partial eclipse start: 11:37 AM; Total eclipse: 1:03 PM – 1:03 PM Duration: 0m 31.5s; Partial eclipse end: 2:29 PM CDT

Crossville, TN
Partial eclipse start: 12:02 PM; Total eclipse: 1:30 PM – 1:33 PM Duration: 2m 33.2s; Partial eclipse end: 2:56 PM CDT

McClellanville, SC
Partial eclipse start: 1:17 PM; Total eclipse: 2:46 PM – 2:48 PM Duration: 2m 28.9s; Partial eclipse end: 4:10 PM EDT